Thursday’s Something Else (Tannhäuser)

tseIn light of a split decision to go see Tannhäuser I thought it would be wise to listen to the opera before I committed to its 3hrs+. Well, wouldn’t you know, it was highly bearable. In fact some parts were very pleasant indeed (often when there was no singing, but that wasn’t unpleasant either; at least most of the time).

On the other hand I can’t say I’ve been turned into a Wagner aficionado. But we’ll talks again after I actually see it.

About dehggial

Mozart/Baroque loving red dragon

Posted on April 14, 2016, in romantic opera, thursday's something else and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oooh! Retro-80’s Weekend! Takes me right back. Bayreuth Chorus kills at 1:50:42+

  2. oh yes! I like to listen to the highlights recording which cuts down on the time investment, obviously. but it is great music even when one is sitting folded in half for 5 hours like I was at the Met last year.

Leave a comment