2016 in WP stats

According to WP stats, 2016 was the year where I achieved the most with the least effort (119 posts published before this one, though we might get to 125 by the end of the year; by contrast, there were 140 posts in 2015 and 211 in 2013), which is a fine motto by me 😉

So let’s see what people liked to read on opera, innit? this year:

  1. “revival adriana lecouvreur roh 2016-17”
  2. Akhnaten at ENO (take 2)
  3. Ann Hallenberg (Gluck and Mozart)
  4. Juditha triumphans
  5. Akhnaten at ENO (take 1)
  6. Stutzmann and Orfeo 55 (Vivaldi)
  7. ROH 2016-2017 confirmed
  8. Maria Ostroukhova recital
  9. ROH Spring Season/London Handel Fest General Sale
  10. Ariodante at RCM (take 1)

The most read Tito was Röschmann’s Tito (how very surprising, I know).

Translation: Baroque, something unsual with countertenor, something properly old school with diva and what’s coming next at ROH. I am obviously not surprised about all the Baroque, or even about Akhnaten – because we haven’t had it in 30 years and ENO can do spectacular when it wants (or still) and in this case it definitely did, but I didn’t expect La Lecouvreur to get so much attention. We’ll all have to wait until February 7 to see if the bated breath was worth it (aka, if La Gheorghiu still has it). But yes, Akhnaten (I really hope they filmed it) and all the Baroque was the dog’s bollocks, fully deserving to be shared with all.

There are no doubts around these parts about Baroque but I’m very glad people have read about Akhnaten; it’s a wonderful “mood piece” about which I have very little to bitch (and that only when I’m especially mardy; my chief complaint is the title role should be sung by a mezzo or contralto 😉 you could see that one coming, I know) and I think more people should listen to it and definitely see it if it comes anywhere near them. I consider myself wildly lucky to have seen it performed “in my backyard” so soon after becoming acquainted with it.

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on December 26, 2016, in ...and then I heard that, baroque, countertenors, mezzos & contraltos. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

