Luca and Maciej preach to the converted (Wigmore Hall, 20 November 2016)

Our Evangelists leading with the left hand last Sunday were:

Luca Pisaroni bass-baritone
Maciej Pikulski piano

And that was the truth, they were leading with the left hand, each one in his specific way. I don’t think that much about the piano but I can tell when rhythm is being kept with gusto. As for veering down the left hand path, that only occurred on occasion, lucifer skills being part and parcel for baritones and basses. Given that Pisaroni is known for his almost giggly nature, the Doppelgänger came out rather creepy. But he does hold out his left hand in that Homer grabbing Bart by the throat way when things get specifically dramatic.

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Der Schiffer D536
Memnon D541
Fahrt zum Hades D526
Auf der Donau D553

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Lied aus der Ferne WoO. 137
Der Kuss Op. 128
Zärtliche Liebe WoO. 123 ‘Ich liebe dich’
Adelaide Op. 46

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
Neue Liebe Op. 19a No. 4
Gruss Op. 19a No. 5
Morgengruss Op. 47 No. 2
Allnächtlich im Traume Op. 86 No. 4
Auf Flügeln des Gesanges Op. 34 No. 2
Reiselied Op. 34 No. 6

Interval

Excited Lady: I’ve been listening to Radio 3 for 30 years but I’ve never been to Wigmore Hall before. I didn’t even know where it was.

Well, good pick there, WH newbie! I knew about WH since close to the beginning of my “classical singing journey” but I gave it a wide birth for a while out of a misguided conviction that opera singers should be heard in staged operas only. My loss indeed! Up to now I had not heard Pisaroni sing lieder, thinking he’s Italian. My loss again! But since I like him and I had not heard him live since 20131 I thought he couldn’t possibly ruin Schubert too much, could he now?! Don’t know about Beethoven or Mendelssohn but you’d have to be hopeless to ruin Schubert.

Gentle reader, he didn’t. More than that, I thought his lieder skills were delightful. I could’ve well gone on listening to him for two more hours, especially since next on my schedule came the fourth night shift in a row. I’m pretty sure 99% of opera, innit? readers are well aware of how Pisaroni sounds and at least 80% would agree with me 4 hours wouldn’t be long enough. But even considering all this, I thought he was just wonderful.

As an old boss of mine would say, he kept his indoors voice on and I thought it was just the right size and consistency for lieder at Wigmore Hall. Which is to say, it carried very well but it was always intimate. His diction was great, too, though naturally I can’t comment on his pronunciation.

Franz Schubert
Schwanengesang D9572
Der Atlas
Ihr Bild
Das Fischermädchen
Die Stadt
Am Meer
Der Doppelgänger

Schäfers Klagelied D121
Grenzen der Menschheit D716
Ganymed D544
Erlkönig D328
Willkommen und Abschied D767

Lady with programme: It says here he’s appeared in La clemenza di Tito, Cosi fan tutte, Don Giovanni and even in the title role in Le nozze di Figaro… He wasn’t Cherubino, was he?
Mr accompanying Lady with programme: I think he was… Figaro.
Lady with programme: Oh!
Mr accompanying Lady with programme: Or maybe the Count?

There might be room for a conversation regarding the title role in Le nozze di Figaro (I have it on good authority he never appeared as the wedding itself… yet) but he did sound particularly Mozartean in his approach. Definitely a good thing, especially for a non-German, I venture to say. I’ve heard that those of us not Germans don’t quite get lieder, although those among us who are singers will inch a bit closer with time and experience, but it seems like going Mozart is the safe option for most things.

I’ll have to disappoint you, having forgotten what the encores were but I should add that Pikulski was an excellent foil for Pisaroni’s quirkiness. There was this impishness to his playing I quite enjoyed, where he would apparently go all Romantic on a few chords then drop the whole thing with lightness.

Let’s hope we’ll see Pisaroni more often in London (even as Cherubino – I actually could see that and it would be a riot too), especially on a date when I’m more with it.


  1. He was slotted at WH this past January but retreated with a cold. We were lucky this rain soaked November date didn’t gobble him up again. 
  2. In swan news, I got my refund this payday. 
About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on November 25, 2016, in live performances, wigmore hall and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. …even as Cherubino, snort, agreed! I think he would be the single male singer I’d like to see in that role.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Regie, or Not Regie?

    He probably could do a pretty good Cherubino (maybe down an octave) but as far as I know he’s only done Figaro and Almaviva. I hear he’s working on the Don of Don Giovanni. He’s already an awesome and accomplished Leporello.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, yea, his Leporello and Figaro are great! I think I would like his Don, he’s probably going to go for comedy more than others. Unless he gets a rubbish director. I can imagine some very winky La ci darem la mano and the serenata (or whatever it is) he sings to the maid.

      Like

Leave a Reply

