New search items: “donald trump spam”

Sign of the times, eh? Someone landed on opera, innit? using this search term. Most curious, as I am 100% I never used it anywhere in this blog up to now and upon doing a bit or research I didn’t quite get it. But because it’s such a curious thing when it comes to a niche blog, I’ll indulge the world at large.

the one labelled “serious beard” is the spitting image of my cousin!

If you’re now thinking hang on a minute, this has nothing whatsoever to do with trump…!

you’re right 😀 fighting absurdity with absurdity is one of my mottos. So I thought I’d share a picture related to contemporary grooming and snacking habits of those now bitterly crying in their cornflakes jam jar cocktails.

We live in a world where both lefties and traditonalists wear Father Xmas beards, where experts (especially foreign) are out and the take back our country/make America great again brigade is in and saving the world from the overly educated (the great plague of 2016). Also, far as I know, sharing pictures of food on blogs is still going strong. So as not to appear too snobbish/sneering (also out of style), I thought I’d use this filler post to toast all the great trends of 2016 (or thereabouts).

(as usual) I’ll leave you with this month’s contralto and a message that expresses my feelings regarding the spectacular mess we in the West currently see ourselves in:

Ferri, ceppi, sangue, morte
non paventa l’alma forte,
che vien meco il mio furor.
So ch’io sono invendicata,
e che fui meno spietata,
è mia pena, e mio dolor

Google translate illuminates us thus:

Irons, shackles, blood, death (irons = swords)
no serious concerns regarding the strong soul (don’t scare a courageous heart)
who cometh with me my fury. (when it’s pissed off)
I know that I am unavenged,
and that I was less ruthless, (I was too soft)
is my pain, and my pain (so that’s my punishment and pain)

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on November 11, 2016, in baroque, mezzos & contraltos, random thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. hiding in here for a bit of laughter and jotting down: i had a dream last night visiting London for some music and staying on your new couch and thinking: this isn’t too far from downtown!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

