Now in the past (better later than never)

Since my enjoyment of opera is centred on contemporary singers, conductors and productions, I’m largely ignorant of tremendous stuff from the past. Earlier this year when I became aware of Elena Obraztsova’s passing I wanted to say something (mezzo-loving as I am) but felt I knew too little to do her justice beyond pointing you to her blistering Acerba voluta.

Upon hearing of Jon Vickers’ death my first thought went to his great Shut up with your damn coughing! moment which I used in the coughing season post. Then, to my shame, I drew a blank. Thinking about it more I thought I should just start educating myself later than never. So I checked out his Winterreise, reccommended by many. Wonderful, complex interpretation indeed. If you haven’t come across it you might as well check out parts 1 and 2 now.

About dehggial

Mozart/Baroque loving red dragon

Posted on July 15, 2015, in mezzos & contraltos, tenors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

