Opera graphic novels (yes, please)

Leander has posted Act I of Artaserse, the graphic novel, which she’s based on Vinci’s opera seria and Purcărete’s production. Go check it out (if you haven’t already), it’s fun and probably as true to Ancient surroundings as can be. My favourite bits are Artabano’s horns and Arbace’s dream sequence 😉

I’ve often toyed with the idea of opera fan fic, but unlike Leander1, have not persevered just yet. More power to her! It’s another great way of experiencing operas we know and love – and renewing our love for them (and for Metastasio’s (etc.) libretti). There should be more out there! – both opera graphic novels and opera fan fics.


  1. Leander’s Artaserse‘s isn’t fan fic, it’s faithful to the libretto. 
About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on June 30, 2015, in baroque and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Aw thanks Dehgg. Nope, it isn’t fanfic (I think Baroque opera fanfic per se is a step too far even for me), but it has proven to be a great way to get to ‘know’ the characters better – and I just hope Metastasio will forgive me for taking a few liberties. I regret that I haven’t gone anywhere near the historical accuracy angle. It would just be way too much trouble, I would get overly fixated on detail, and I think it’s more fun to use the production we all know and love as a jumping off point. Though there are the odd bits of Darius’ palace at Susa and the Ishtar Gate floating around, because I’m a geek. You’re very sweet to have linked it here. I really appreciate it, and I’m glad you liked it. No pressure for Act 2, then… 😉

    Like

    • You’re welcome 🙂 I can only imagine the amount of work that went into it and the fact that you finished this act and posted it (one of the hardest things I find!).

      That play about the life of Metastasio should include a quip or two about what posterity will do with/to his work 😉

      Like

    • Oh God, yes, I’d forgotten we were going to write a play about him. And that film about Handel. Checks diary Yes, I should be free in about 2019… 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

