Thursday’s Something Else (2nd Poulenc)

tseLa voix humaine isn’t the first Poulenc I’ve talked about in this series, though it might be the first I heard. Upon first encounter I found it frightening, perhaps more so than Schoenberg’s Erwartung. I wasn’t necessary eager to give it another go. But since I am going to see it live in 10 days I thought it might be best for my own sanity to get reacquainted. Turns out I’ve matured a bit taste-wise and it wasn’t such a harrowing experience as before. It felt mostly bearable if overwrought. I don’t know that I’ve felt low enough before to actually get what the woman is going through. Thus I thought a bit of intellectual help from the woman it was written for would stir me in the right direction:

About dehggial

Mozart/Baroque loving red dragon

Posted on June 4, 2015, in 20th century, french opera, operatic damsels in distress, thursday's something else and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

