Curious Poppea at Theater an der Wien (October 2015)

Theater and der Wien is at it again – sounds like this could be an event all right: conducted by Spinosi (so chipper?), directed by Guth (so maybe not chipper but possibly weird) and sung by these folks:

Nerone: Valer Sabadus (eh heh, Nerone wishes he looked like that)
Poppea: Alex Penda (I kid you not! Poor Sabadus, how will he cope in those duets, especially the last one ๐Ÿ˜€ )
Ottone: Christophe Dumaux
Ottavia: Jennifer Larmore (I didn’t know she was back in the saddle! Hope all is good)
Drusilla: Sabina Puertolas
Lucano (and others): Rupert Charlesworth (the smooth-voiced Jupiter/Apollo in the recent London Semele)
Valletto: Emilie Renard (the (very) cute/joyful Arbace in the London Catone in Utica)

and many others I don’t know. Leander wants to go see it and I have to say I am quite tempted myself since it could end up being all sorts of things.

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on April 1, 2015, in baroque and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Alas, anyone who’s spoken to me about Baroque music for more than about fifty seconds will be perfectly aware of the main draw for me… I reckon he’ll cope. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And hopefully it won’t be too weird. I’m not asking for togas or anything but I would like it to be not too off the wall so that I can enjoy it properly. If everyone comes on with goggles and snorkels and life-belts round their waists, I’m going to be miffed. Just putting that out there now. :-S

    Like

    • All I’m saying is don’t watch Guth’s Le nozze di Figaro beforehand as a primer for his style ๐Ÿ˜‰ I really liked his Die Frau ohne Schatten but he’s as regie as they come.

      I’m sure Valer will cope with Baroque but vocally she can drown him like a kitten ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Kultur in Wien | Vienna News

  2. Pingback: Kultur in Wien | Vienna News

Leave a Reply

