“We thought…” the royal we speaks

One of my pet-peeves is people chiming in the comments section of posts elsewhere1 and speaking on behalf of the entire household/party they took to see the performance. Is it all of you writing the comment? No? Then speak for your single self.


  1. such as this one (scroll down a bit to find the one where the “we” pops up and how others poke fun at it thereafter 😉 ) 
About dehggial

Mozart/Baroque loving red dragon

Posted on January 21, 2015, in rants. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Regie, or Not Regie?

    That was an amusing exchange. I often have to refrain from reading the comments on that particular blog* because, while the blog writer(s)is(are) (generally) very good, (some of) the readers are bitchy opera queens. A little opera-queen bitchiness goes a long way. OTOH there are a lot of clever opera queens making comments, too. Sometimes it’s worthwhile wading through the bitchiness to chuckle at the snappy comebacks.

    Personally, I dislike “we” comments from bloggers. Having said that, I have to be careful not to do it myself. But usually when I say “we,” I am including my readers/fellow opera fans. As in, “We are all looking forward to that webcast of __________________ starring ___________, ________________, and _______________.”

    *There’s one other blog I’ve stopped reading entirely: a gossip column disguised as a music blog that sometimes discusses opera. I will not name the blog here (or in my own blog–though I have in past posts) because I find the blog and its author so annoying that I don’t want to draw any more attention to them.

    Like

    • Regie, or Not Regie?

      ….the annoying “blog that shall not be named” also sparks some rather irritating flame wars in the comments sections..

      Like

      • I think I remember reading something about that on your blog.

        Like

      • Regie, or Not Regie?

        I’m sure you have. I’ve ranted about it more than once. Having said that, I noticed when surfing my archives the other day, that I have named that blog at least once or twice.

        When I first found it, I thought it was pretty neat. That’s before I started reading all the nasty comments flying back and forth. It’s also before I realized that the author seems to enjoy inciting controversy, and in fact doesn’t seem to have a real focus for the blog, other than to gossip about music and musicians in general and to try to piss people off.

        Like

        • It’s also before I realized that the author seems to enjoy inciting controversy, and in fact doesn’t seem to have a real focus for the blog, other than to gossip about music and musicians in general and to try to piss people off

          I think I know which one you mean now… the one that likes to be on top of opera news and doesn’t comment much on them but there are often lots of comments on the posts as such.

          Like

    • Agreed. Sometimes I roll my eyes multiple times at the comments. Nonetheless, they do provide mild entertainment during night shifts; sometimes they do get informative. Funnily, whilst reading the very many comments on one of the posts there I “recognised” someone who used to frequent the same online forum where I whiled my time uni. What a small world!

      I don’t think you’re in danger with the “we” thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

