Thursday’s Something Else (Dvořák)

tseThis week is a return to Central Europe with Dvořák’s Rusalka, which I have thus far neglected. I really enjoyed Herheim’s La Monnaie’s production1. I especially liked how the sex shop run by The Water Goblin doubled as a bridal shop during the day. The concept is so coherent and there are so many good points made, it warrants a longer post. Except I’m not so fond of the music. It’s not bad (in fact, very well structured) and it’s excellently sung but it doesn’t move me all that much.


  1. As usual a bunch of po-faced complained in the comments area about it being a “travesty” (of their own lack of imagination). I guess they don’t know what rusalkas represent in Slavic legend, or water and nature spirits in mythology in general. I don’t think the moron who compared it to Romeo and Juliet understands literature as such… 
About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on September 11, 2014, in thursday's something else, weekly on opera, innit? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Regie, or Not Regie?

    Rusalka is Like Romeo and Juliet? Hahahahahahaha! Yeah, like my life is similar to Anna Nicole’s. YT comments are pretty….well.. dumb, most of the time. I find reading them usually makes me very angry. Amazon reader comments are so much more erudite (well, not always…)

    Like

  2. “Except I’m not so fond of the music. It’s not bad (in fact, very well structured) and it’s excellently sung but it doesn’t move me all that much.”

    Not bad? Oh dear! In a good production (such as the recent one at Glyndebourne) I find this one of the most moving, absorbing, gripping operas in the repertoire. Perhaps you should try again?

    Like

Leave a Reply

