Der Vogelfänger bin ich ja

You know that opera Wolfie wrote in 1791? Yea, not that one. I mean Die Zauberflote. Here’s a confession: I’d only heard it twice before, an old recording mum had. But today I thought, hey, that’s not right. What kind of Mozart fan am I to be so poorly acquainted with this work?! I chose the most ridiculous production I could find on short notice. Trust Salzburger Festspiele to go all wacky on Wolfie. How cool are the bold colour sets, Papageno’s papier mache VW and his assorted animals? Damrau’s dress looks like a radioactive broccoli. Perfect. If anybody knows of an even wackier one, please let me know.

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on April 18, 2014, in mozart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think that Salzburg Flute might be my favourite but other interesting ones include the ROH one with Simon Keenleyside with a duck on his head, David Pountney’s spectacular outdoor one from Bregenz and Robert Carsen’s intriguing Baden-Baden version.

    Like

Leave a Reply

