Rambling on about ROH/tickets

My opera going buddy has got us ROH tickets for Ariadne auf Naxos and Maria Stuarda, both of which will go on General Sale next week (8 April) and will happen in July. That’s really good as I can do without the stress of another General Sale madness. He says General Sale for Maria Stuarda looks like it could turn into a handbag fight – only fitting, eh? It’s JDD’s last production at ROH for the next couple of years – although let’s not forget that she’s singing Alcina at The Barbican this October and it’s not sold out yet.

I wish this ticket getting malarkey was more like getting tickets for rock shows was in the ’90s – show up at the venue during the opening act and get good “seats” under market value from the scalpers. Maybe this is happening in the opera world as well and I just don’t know. What I know is you can queue up a few hours before the show and hope for returns but that’s just too much hassle for this lazy arse. I usually arrange it so that I’m not working the day of the show so I technically could queue up but eh. Then by the time the opera starts I’d be tired and cranky and quite possibly hungry, when I could be freshly showered and fed and ready to be dazzled and transported into the wonderful world of jealousy, betrayal, star-crossed lovers etc.

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on April 1, 2014, in donizetti, richard strauss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

