Thursday’s Something Else (Brigitte Fassbaender’s Masterclass)

tseThis was the first Masterclass I attended and it was a lot of fun. I’ve always been fascinated by masterclasses because I’m a bit of a geek 😉 Somehow this week has been very education-oriented for me (Monday I got a bit of a crash test on Forensic Law, Wednesday was all about prevention and management of Diabetes and yesterday was the finer points of lieder singing).

The fact that I personally sound like a frog is one of the things I have long mourned. I really wish I could sing anything from Boris Godunov to The Queen of the Night, I’m not that picky, although of course my favourite arias get precedence. Sound is such an exciting thing!

I merrily took myself to the masterclass at Wigmore Hall. After watching a bunch of her performances on DVD I figured Fassbaender would be fun and was she! A very relaxed – yet full of energy – humorous woman. As I am not very well versed in lieder, this was educational on many levels. And the students, although very young, were not bad at all; a couple of them so good, in fact, I wouldn’t mind listening to them in a production. One of them (Christina Gansch) had a proper outstanding voice.

I am going again today so I’ll talk more about the whole experience after I get back.

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on March 14, 2014, in mezzos & contraltos, thursday's something else and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

