The ever surprising Horne at 80

The legendary Marilyn Horne turns 80 tomorrow, so I thought I’d do a bit of a blog-shindig as she was one of the first opera singers I deliberately listened to once I figured mezzosoprano was my favourite fach. She never ceases to amaze me with her versatility and guts, although I may not always agree with her choices.

Tomorrow I’ll be going out of my way and post a Horne double feature. Until then, here are two surprising – to me – arias where she shines:

Mon coeur s’ouvre a ta voix – I tried a variety of versions and came to hers almost as an afterthought. Well, what a surprise! I loved it.

Furibondo spira il vento – maybe those ornaments aren’t idiomatic but I like that she tries something different to keep it interesting when it can drag a bit in less perceptive “hands”. I also think her voice sounds beautiful (superb in the very dark take on the B section) in this aria I normally think owned by David Daniels.

About dehggial

opera lover with a predilection for Mozart and Baroque

Posted on January 15, 2014, in fachs of the world, mezzos & contraltos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

