A bunch of even less known operas (200-272)

listsAt this point there are so many operas that I either have never heard of or didn’t care to explore, that I’m mostly being silly (I’m shooting for funny but I think sometimes I give myself too much credit…).

I had a long moment there where the futility of going on with this project if all I was doing was talking out of my backside came glaringly into view. Eventually I found something positive: the act of having to think of something to write, even for a few moments, gives me the opportunity to acknowledge the existence of these works. And since I’m made of curiosity, I’ll get around to most of them in the next 50 or so years. Promise.

201 King Arthur (Purcell)

Pass the meade, fair wench. Speaking of which, I do indeed like meade drunk out of a cow’s horn. If I believed in reincarnation I’m sure I’d think I lived a life back in ye olde. Come to think of it, I kinda had a ball at the Viking Museum up in York town Jorvik. That’s exactly how this opera sounds.

202 Der Vampyr (Marschner)

I went to it with great hopes and I found out it’s a lot less cool than I thought. The idea of the sexy vampire seems to have only emerged in the 20th century.

203 Zoroastre (Rameau)

Remember when I said French Baroque is like smelly cheese? No subject is safe from librettists.

204 Louise (Gustave Charpentier)

I’m now confused which Charpentier is which.

205 The Tsar’s Bride (Rimsky-Korsakov)

It’s been in my Watch later folder for months…

206 Fedora (Giordano)

Panama.

207 Rita (Donizetti)

Haven’t the foggiest. The man wrote upwards to 70 operas.

208 Il Corsaro (Verdi)

Pirates were popular in the 1800s. Makes you think it’ll be full of sea shanty choruses, kinda like the Anvil chorus but with oars.

209 Le Grand Macabre (Ligeti)

It’s kinda cool but kinda not.

210 Stiffelio (Verdi)

Stiffelio, haha.

211 Médée (Cherubini)

These Médées have potential but they could be a waste of time without mad scenes.

212 Mathis der Maler (Hindemith)

Comment fail.

213 Lucrezia Borgia (Donizetti)

Mad coloratura fest plus “male bonding”, aka gay subtext. This was the first opera I watched in its entirety in that regie version where Grubi pulls har face off.

214 A Village Romeo and Juliet (Delius)

Shakespeare with commoners! Really, I got no clue.

215 The Snow Maiden (Rimsky-Korsakov)

The Snow Maiden is a traditional Russian tale (or a “traditional tale” made up by Pushkin). I can’t remember what the hell it’s about but I guess the title gives an important clue.

216 Les Paladins (Rameau)

Jousting?

217 Le Cid (Massenet)

The rabid fan is at it again.

218 La Finta Giardiniera (Mozart)

This one is a bit shite, Wolfie.

219 Die Soldaten (Zimmermann)

It looked good at Felsenreitschule but I don’t know if it sounds good or if I care about the plot.

220 Aleko (Rachmaninov)

Blimey, Rachmaninov tried his hand at opera! Not sure if that’s a good thing or bad and won’t know until I check it out, eh.

About dehggial

Mozart/Baroque loving red dragon

Posted on October 19, 2013, in opera lists and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

